Untitled-1

ALL FOLLOWING EVENTS WILL BE HELD AT 33 LAFAYETTE, BROOKLYN NY

HCXWebsiteCalendar_BHM_AyitiToma

-“Ayiti Toma”. Artist Talk
Date: Thursday, February 2, 2017
Time: 6-9 pm
For the closing reception of the exhibition of Ayiti Toma, please join us for a talk with featured artists Nathalie Jolivert, Mahalia Stines and Monique Serres moderated by HCX executive director, Regine M. Roumain.
About the artists:
Nathalie Jolivert is a NY-based Haitian artist whose artwork is influenced by her interest in urbanism, environmental issues and human relationships. The black and white figures in her images are inspired by the silhouettes found in the metal artwork of Haiti. Urban scenes of Port-au-Prince dominated by expressions found on the colorful public automobiles, the “tap-taps”, are depicted to put forth the challenges in the infrastructure of the city.
Mahalia Stines is a multi-disciplinary artist and designer based in Brooklyn, NY. She draws her inspiration from her homeland of Haiti and calls her work “Brooklyn meets the Tropics”. Her favorite source of inspiration are the Haitian vèvè, ritual diagrams associated with Haitian vodou that are used by many artists in everything from paintings to beaded flags to home decor items. Mahalia takes great pleasure in creating and designing pieces that can turn into something wearable.
Monique Serres is a realist painter she uses as medium charcoal, pastel, acrylic, gouache, watercolor and oil. Color and proportion are paramount in her compositions. She often uses metaphors to depict the constant struggle of mankind to attain peace or perfection. Her work also depicts African and Caribbean people in their everyday struggle for survival, a revelation of their daily reality. She thinks that the value of art lies in what it says and how it says it by implying meaning through allegory, pose, facial expression or by evoking them through elements such as color and form.

-Sip and Paint: “Pawòl Granmoun” with Nathalie Jolivert
Date: Sunday, February 12
Time: 3-6 PM
Price: $ 45.00 . Drinks and hors d’oeuvres will be served.  RSVP HERE
Visual artist, Nathalie Jolivert will lead a painting session with a focus on traditional Haitian proverbs and modern interpretations. Guests will learn about a few Creole Haitian proverbs and leave this session with their own creation and interpretation of these iconic expressions. All art materials provided by Haiti Cultural Exchange.

-Ann Pale: “American Street” by Ibi Zoboi. Book Launch and Author’s Talk
Date: Thursday February 16
Time: 6-9 PM
Join us for a publication launch and talk with award-winning author Ibi Zoboi for her latest book “American Street”.
About the book:
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
About the author:
Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti and immigrated to the U.S. when she was four years old. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she was a recipient of the Norma Fox Mazer Award. Her award-winning and Pushcart-nominated writing has been published in Haiti Noir, the Caribbean Writer, The New York Times Book Review, the Horn Book Magazine, and The Rumpus, among others. American Street (Balzer+Bray/HarperCollins) is her first novel.

RSVP HERE

-Author’s Talk: “Dance on the Volcano” by Marie Vieux Chauvet, translated by Kaiama L. Glover
Date: Tuesday February 28
Time: 6-9 PM
Join us for a conversation with professor Kaiama L. Glover, translator from french to english of Marie Vieux Chauvet’s book “Dance on the Volcano”. Kaiama L. Glover will be joined by the performance artist Gina Athena Ulysse.
About the book:
Set in late-18th century Haiti, Dance on the Volcano follows the extraordinary career of Minette, who uses her prodigious voice to cross racial barriers. Her talent brings her an opportunity to perform at the Theater of Port-au-Prince, an honor previously reserved only for whites. However, once the curtain falls she finds herself back to life as normal. Praised but unpaid, applauded but shut out, Minette develops a political and racial conscience that that will not rest as long as slavery still exists on the island. Her involvement soon leads her to butt heads with the man she loves, a free black man as cruel to his slaves as many white landholders, and to cross paths with the future heroes of the revolution.
Born in Port-au-Prince in 1916, Marie Vieux-Chauvet is widely considered one of the greatest writers of the francophone Caribbean. Dance on the Volcano will be the second of her works to be published in English.
About Kaiama L. Glover
Kaiama L. Glover is Associate Professor of French and Africana Studies at Barnard College, Columbia University. She is the author of Haiti Unbound: A Spiralist Challenge to the Postcolonial Canon, first editor of Marie Vieux Chauvet: Paradoxes of the Postcolonial Feminine (Yale French Studies 2016), and translator of Frankétienne’s Ready to Burst (Archipelago Books 2014), Marie Vieux-Chauvet’s Dance on the Volcano (Archipelago Books 2016), and René Dépestre’s Hadriana in All My Dreams (Akashic Books 2017). She has received awards and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the PEN Foundation, the Mellon Foundation, and the Fulbright Foundation.
About Gina Athena Ulysse
Gina Athena Ulysse is a performance artist and associate professor of anthropology at Wesleyan University. Born in Haiti, she has lived in the United States for over thirty years. Ulysse is the author of Downtown Ladies: Informal Commercial Importers, a Haitian Anthropologist, Self-Making in Jamaica, and Why Haiti Needs New Narratives: A Post-Quake Chronicle.

RSVP HERE

About Our Programs

We seek to enrich the cultural landscape of New York City by developing, presenting and promoting a wide array of quality visual and performing arts, as well as educational and public affairs programs including:

  • Performing Arts
  • Visual Arts
  • Literary Arts
  • Youth Development
  • Artist Development
  • Public Forums
  • Community Building
  • Resources & Referrals
  • 12715779_10205838756710243_8774800106369074610_n12715684_10205838768590540_8097821659347430857_n12717315_10205838756430236_2630659666090378629_n12711059_10205838760430336_1236790612917469244_o